Floyd County Indiana Stormwater 


Department History:

Floyd County Water MapFloyd County is required, by the 1987 Clean Water Act, to obtain a permit through IDEM (Indiana Department of Environmental Management) to enter into a MS4 (Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System) program that follows EPA’s Phase II of the NPDES standards for clean water. The permit requires Floyd County to develop a stormwater management plan and to implement best management practices (stormwater pollution prevention measures). This unfunded mandate has 6 (six) minimum control measures that must be incorporated into our management plan. Ordinances were written to include these standards and created a Stormwater Board that became the executors of these regulations. Please view the Floyd County Ordinances and the Stormwater Management Plan.

Download the Stormwater Department MS4 Program Overview Powerpoint Presentation (pptx)