Floyd County Solid Waste Management District:

The Floyd County Solid Waste Management District was created in 1992 as a separate unit of government,  to establish environmental programs to encourage recycling and to divert solid waste in Floyd County from the Clark-Floyd landfill.  The District works to educate Floyd County residents and businesses with information on recycling program. The City of New Albany has curbside recycling. There are mobile trailers throughout the county for residents outside the City of New Albany.

Floyd County Recycling Schedule:

Monday – Closed
Tuesday – Floyd Co. Hwy Dept 6412 Old Georgetown Rd. – 10am - 5pm
Wednesday – Galena Lamb Park - 10am - 5pm
Thursday – Closed
Friday – Northside Christian Church 10am - 5pm
Saturday – Floyd Co. Recycling Site 3005 Grant Line Rd (across from Walmart) 9am - 2pm
Sunday - Closed

The Mobile Recycling Units located at Letty Walters Park and Greenville Town Hall have been permanently closed.

Hazardous Waste:

Household Hazardous Waste sites will be open on the 2nd Saturday of the month. The Hazardous Waste Drop Off site is located in New Albany on West 8th Street (off Main Street) next to the waste water treatment plant.

Please Note: Household Hazardous Waste will close for winter from November - March.

PAINTS (Price on all Paint $4.00 per gallon)

  • Oil Based Paints
  • Stains
  • Aerosols
  • Latex Paint


  • Anti-Freeze (Drop Off at B & C Auto Parts)
  • Household Cleaners
  • Pesticide Liquids


    B & C Auto Parts – 812-948-1577
    3423 Paoli Pike Floyds Knobs IN 47119
    Monday – Friday – 9-5
    Saturday – 9-2


  • Dry Cell Batteries
  • Nicad
  • Lithium
  • Wet Cell Batteries
  • Car and Small Engine Batteries (Drop Off at B & C Auto Parts)


3005 Grant Line Road, New Albany - Open Saturdays 9:00am - 2:00pm

Fees do apply for E-Waste. For additional information please call Ph#812-948-4733.


Floyd Memorial Hospital (Emergency Room)
1850 State Street
New Albany IN 47150
Site Open 24 hours a Day

Floyd Memorial Jail Lobby
311 Hauss Square
New Albany IN 47150
Site Open 24 hours a Day

Board of Directors:

Mark Seabrook
Charles “Chuck “ Freiberger
Steve Bush – Vice President
Brad Striegel – President
Mayor Jeff Gahan - City of New Albany
Dan Coffey
Katy Haller

Floyd County Solid Waste 2015 Monthly Meetings:

The Board of Directors meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the month. All meetings are held at the 2524 Corydon Pike, First Floor Room 104 Commissioner Meeting Room. Meetings begin at 5:00pm

January 20th
February 17th
March 17th
April 21st
May 19th
June 16th
July 21st
August 18th
September 15th
October 20th
November 17th
December 15th

Floyd County Solid Waste Mgmt.District
2524 Corydon Pike Suite #202
New Albany IN 47150

Monday-Friday 8am - 4pm

Holiday Calendar

Fax #812-948-4712

Mary Lou Byerley - Operations Manager

Recycle Indiana

Click for more details on recycling your tree!

Donate your old vehicle to Wheels for Wishes!

Wheels For Wishes is a car donation program benefiting Make-A-Wish® Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana. We are proud to offer an easy way to recycle or donate unwanted cars, trucks, motorcycles, SUVs, RVs, or even boats, by turning them into a wish for a local child.